It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Library of Southern Denmark - LibGuides
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (Ebsco)This link opens in a new windowCompiled by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA Religion Database covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. This database is an essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities. With coverage dating as far back as 1949, this database contains over one million bibliographic records.
Ingen fjernadgang for OUH ansatte. Adgang fra SDU / No remote access for OUH employees. Access from SDU.
Brill journalsThis link opens in a new windowBrill’s publications focus on the Humanities and Social Science, International Law and selected areas in Science.
Brill’s Encyclopedia of HinduismThis link opens in a new windowBrill’s Encyclopedia of Hinduism presents research on all the main aspects of the Hindu traditions. It contains 438 essays of original work written by scholars on Hinduism. The encyclopedia’s goal is to present a balanced and even-handed view of Hinduism, recognizing the divergent perspectives and methods in the academic study of a religion that has ancient historical roots with many flourishing traditions today.
Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and CultureThis link opens in a new windowThe Cambridge Companions series offers specially-commissioned collections of essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists
Dictionary of Qurʾanic UsageThis link opens in a new windowIt is the first comprehensive, fully-researched and contextualised Arabic-English dictionary of Qur'anic usage, compiled by scholars. Based on Classical Arabic dictionaries and Qur'an commentaries, this work also emphasises the role of context in determining the meaning-scatter of each vocabulary item. Examples from Qur'anic verses are provided in support of the definitions given for each context in which a particular word occurs, with cross-references to other usages.
Early Western KoransThis link opens in a new windowKoran Printing in the West, 1537-1857
This collection of Early Printed Korans demonstrates what impact the holy book of Islam achieved in Europe. Long before printing with movable type became common practice in the Islamic world in the early 19th century, Korans were printed in Arabic type in several European cities. This collection includes Korans and Koran translations in eight languages. It is of interest to orientalists, theologians, philologists and book historians alike.
Encyclopaedia of the QurʾānThis link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. The Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur’ān to appear in a Western language.
Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online includes direct access to 62 Early Printed Western Qur’āns Online and the Electronic Qurʾān Concordance, a unique online finding aid for textual research.
Encyclopedia MythicaThis link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia on mythology, folklore and legends from all over the world. The entries comprises e.g. goddesses, imaginary places, heroes, legendary and supernatural creatures and beings
Encyclopedia of African ReligionThis link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopedia covers exclusively religions which originated on the African continent – and not the religions brought by the missionaries. It is a comprehensive work which assembles ideas, concepts and discourses.
Encyclopedia of Christian CivilizationThis link opens in a new windowThe Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization is a uniquely comprehensive reference work on the history and impact of Christianity. Bringing together over 350 international scholars and 1,402 entries across 2,900 pages, this four-volume work spans issues ranging from theology, politics and law, through to literature, art and architecture
Encyclopedia of ReligionThis link opens in a new windowThe second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.
Index IslamicusThis link opens in a new windowThe international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. The Index Islamicus Online provides the reader with an effective overview of what has been published since 1966 on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense
InfomediaThis link opens in a new windowInfomedias Mediearkiv er Danmarks største online mediearkiv, som giver adgang til millioner af artikler fra landets vigtigste medier tilbage til 1990 og frem til i dag. Infomedia opdateres dagligt med alle landsdækkende dagblade, alle regionale og lokale dagblade, lokale ugeaviser, fagblade og magasiner, nyhedsbureauer, webmedier og radio- og tv-udsendelser.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowDigital library of important scholarly journals, mostly humanities and social sciences. Mostly 20th century
Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4. edThis link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia covering all aspects of the classical world, in the disciplines: literature, history, religion, science, and archaeology. From 2012, with it’s first edition in 1949, OCD is the most authoritative and accessible dictionary for anyone with an interest in the classical era.
Princeton Theological Seminary LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Internet Archive and Princeton Theological Seminary share in the vision and mission of building a digital library freely accessible to scholars, pastors, and other readers around the globe. To that end, in partnership with the Internet Archive, Princeton Theological Seminary is developing the Theological Commons, a digital library of 78,000+ books and journals on theology and religion, including 28,000+ volumes from the Princeton Theological Seminary Library, digitized by the Internet Archive
Qur'an ToolsThis link opens in a new windowQur'an Tools provides tools for advanced academic study of the Qur'an, enabling researchers to examine, search, and analyze Islam's core text.
Qurʾān ConcordanceThis link opens in a new windowThe Qurʾān Concordance is a unique finding aid which allows users to identify and localize text fragments, or even snippets, of the Qurʾān.
Religion Past and PresentThis link opens in a new windowReligion Past and Present (RPP) is a complete, updated English translation of the 4th edition of the definitive encyclopedia of religion worldwide, the peerless Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG). Including the latest developments in research, Religion Past and Present encompasses a vast range of subjects connected with religion. This resource, continues the tradition of deep knowledge and authority relied upon by generations of scholars in religious, theological, and biblical studies.