LibGuides: Database Subjects: Medicine

Medicine

AMA Manual of Style This link opens in a new window The style guide of the American Medical Associations. Aids scientific publishing and editorial work. Information on article types, writing style, terminology and reference style
1 simultaneous user.
AMED - The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database offers access to complementary and alternative medicine topics, such as acupuncture, chiropractic, herbalism, homeopathy, hospice care, hypnosis, palliative care, physiotherapy, podiatry, and rehabilitation. AMED contains articles from over 500 journals, with the scope of coverage being mainly European. Many of the journals are not indexed by other biomedical sources. AMED is produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library
American Medical Association Journals This link opens in a new window Home page for the JAMA Network that includes journals, news, blogs, a learning centre and patient information. Collections of guidelines and recommendations related to medical specialities
Bibliotek.dk This link opens in a new window Indeholder bøger, artikler og andet materiale udgivet i Danmark samt hvad der findes på danske offentlige biblioteker. Det er muligt at bestille materialet
BMJ Journals This link opens in a new window BMJ is a publishing house with more than 60 medical and allied science journals. Publishing information and information on other products can be accessed on the web site. Some features may require a subscription
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window Interface to search thousands of medical books and clinical reference texts
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window Clinical.Trials.gov is a resource that contains information about privately and publicly supported clinical trials from all over the world. The resource is maintained by the National Library of Health (NLM) at National Institute of Health (NIH), USA.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is collection of seven databases in medicine and other healthcare specialties provided by Cochrane and other organizations. At its core is the collection of Cochrane Reviews, a database of systematic reviews and meta-analyses which summarize and interpret the results of medical research. The Cochrane Library aims to make the results of well-conducted controlled trials readily available and is a key resource in evidence-based medicine
Den Danske Forskningsdatabase This link opens in a new window NORA – Danish Research Portal – A pilot database with local data on Danish research. Data has been curated and provided by Danish research institutions. This early Alpha-release should be used with great care. Only a few institutions are currently included and a number of issues were discovered in the transfer of data from their local systems to the portal. These have now been corrected in collaboration with the software vendor and will be made available in the early March Pure software update, version 5.23.1. As soon as the institutions install this update, we may move forward towards a representative beta-release.
EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 8,500 international journals. Includes the Medline database and other titles not covered by Medline
Encyclopedia of Hormones This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference work on hormones in vertebrate, invertebrate, and plant systems. It covers chemical structure and biological synthesis; major physiological systems; cellular and subcellular action sites; signal transduction mechanisms and the biological consequences of hormone imbalances. 300+ articles with key references
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) This link opens in a new window eLS (formerly known as the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences) has more than 5,000 peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leading experts of their field. Key subject areas are: Biochemistry - Bioethics & Philosophy - Cell Biology - Developmental Biology – Ecology - Evolution & Diversity of Life - Genetics & Disease – Immunology – Microbiology - Molecular Biology – Neuroscience - Plant Science - Science & Society - Structural Biology – Virology
Encyclopedia of Microbiology This link opens in a new window A comprehensive survey of microbiology, edited by world-class researchers. It is primarily aimed at university undergraduates, but will appeal also to professionals and academics in related fields. Key topics are: Evolution and systematics, genetics and genomics, environmental microbiology and ecology, applied and technical microbiology, public issues, history and culture
Encyclopedia of Virology This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition continues is the largest single reference source of current research in virology. Unique in its use of “mini-review” articles and it covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects
Epistemonikos This link opens in a new window Epistemonikos er en kooperativ og flersproget database, som indeholder systematiske reviews (der er relevante for sundhedsbeslutninger) samt andre typer videnskabelig evidens.
General, Applied and Systems Toxicology This link opens in a new window It presents an in-depth review of the basic science of toxicology, its specializations, and the application of toxicological knowledge. Additionally, the reference reflects the multidimensional character of the emerging areas of toxicological research
Global Health (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Global Health is a bibliographic database dedicated to public health, capturing key literature that is not covered by other databases
1 simultaneous user
ISCN 2020 This link opens in a new window
HOW TO GET ACCESS
Students and employees at SDU: See Sharepoint for more information.
Employees at OUH and the other university hospitals: Please send an e-mail to the library's licensing office. Please send the e-mail from your hospital e-mail.
An International System for Human Cytogenomic Nomenclature. The database includes tools, books and recommendations in general, for DNA, RNA and protein.
Kunnskapsbasert Praksis This link opens in a new window Knowledge from different sources, e.g. from colleagues, experts, research, guidelines, courses etc. to help health care workers do Evidence Based Practice [in Norwegian]
London Dysmorphology Database This link opens in a new window
Genetic resource including over 10.000 syndromes with detailed feature fotos and descriptions.
You have access to London Dysmorphology Database at Face2Gene. Register to create an account at Face2Gene and you will receive an e-mail from Face2Gene that confirms your access. Download app from Google Play or App Store
Lægehåndbogen This link opens in a new window Lægehåndbogen er et elektronisk opslagsværk, som ejes af Danske Regioner og de 5 regioner. Den indeholder over 6.000 sygdomsartikler suppleret med illustrationer i form af medicinske tegninger, røntgenbilleder, animationer og fotos. Lægehåndbogen henvender sig både til sundhedsprofessionelle og borgere. Hvor det er muligt, vil informationen i Lægehåndbogen have tydelige referencer til kildedata. Artiklerne skrives af danske specialister og opdateres jævnligt
Medical Matrix This link opens in a new window Designed as an in-depth specialty clinical information website. Healio.com features news reporting, dynamic multimedia, question-and-answer columns, CME and other educational activities in a variety of formats in medicine
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is a bibliographic database of the U.S National Library of Medicine. It indexes more than 5,600 journals from life science, biomedicine and health. It covers literature from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period. MEDLINE is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. This link provides access to search Medline via the Ovid interface
Medwatch This link opens in a new window MedWatch er et dagligt opdateret dansk nyhedsmedie med artikler om medicinal- og medicoindustrien.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs This link opens in a new window The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions provides an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere. Each article contains detailed and authoritative information about the adverse effects of each drug, with comprehensive references to the primary literature
MICROMEDEX This link opens in a new window Micromedex gives you information on medicinal products. You can access Drugdex, Drugreax, Diseasedex, Martindale, IV Index, Reprorisk, Index Nominum and PDR. Micromedex is also accessible through several MicroMedex apps. You can find them in the iTunes App Store (both for iPhone and iPad), in Play Store (for Android) and in Windows Store (for Windows8 units). To use the apps you need an activation code, which you can get at the Micromedex database by clicking the button “Download Mobile Apps”.
Morgan & Claypool Colloquium This link opens in a new window An independent publisher of digital-first scholarly eBooks ('Lectures') for the Engineering, Computer Science, Life Science, and Physics research communities
NLM Catalog This link opens in a new window The NLM Catalog provides access to NLM bibliographic data for over 1.4 million journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources, and other materials
Patty's Industrial Hygiene 6th edition This link opens in a new window Welcome to the home of Patty's Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology Online, the standard reference for occupational health and toxicology professionals. The online version offers access to all articles as separate volumes, or searchable together
Patty's Toxicology This link opens in a new window Welcome to the home of Patty's Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology Online, the standard reference for occupational health and toxicology professionals. The online version offers access to all articles as separate volumes, or searchable together.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window The ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global (PQDT) ™ database is the world's most comprehensive curated collection of multi-disciplinary dissertations and theses from around the world, offering over 5 million citations and 2.7 million full-text works from thousands of universities.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Contains research articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and affiliated. Search for PsycArticles in PsycInfo.
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window PsycInfo is a bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycInfo is updated weekly. About 99% of the journals in the database are peer-reviewed, dating from the early 1800s to the present.
PubChem This link opens in a new window PubChem is an open chemistry database at the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) and a key chemical information resource for scientists, students and professionals. It has information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data and much more. PubChem focuses on small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules are included. More than 111 mio pure compounds, 277 mio substances and 34 mio references are covered by Jan 2022.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a search engine provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It covers life science and biomedicine broadly including the 5600 journal titles indexed in the database Medline. It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest curated abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, medicine, engineering and the social sciences. It holds over 70 mio. references to scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, and provides tools to track, analyze and visualize research output
Side Effects of Drugs Annual This link opens in a new window The Side Effects of Drugs Annual is a yearly update to the voluminous encyclopaedia Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs. Provides critical yearly survey of new data and trends in the area of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions
Sundhedsdatastyrelsen This link opens in a new window Sundhedsdatastyrelsens hjemmeside, hvor der kan søges i styrelsens data, analyser og rapporter
Sundhedsmonitor This link opens in a new window News media for everyone who is interested in information about and involvement in the Danish healthcare system.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees
SveMed+ This link opens in a new window SveMed+ er en bibliografisk database som indeholder referencer till artikler fra skandinaviske tidsskrifter indenfor fagområderne medicin, odontologi, sygepleje, terapi, omsorg og fysioterapi
TOXLINE (Proquest) This link opens in a new window TOXLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens. Most records have abstracts and/or indexing terms and Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) Registry Numbers. Coverage: from 1999 to the present
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Visible body This link opens in a new window Visible body makes learning anatomy and physiology more visual and engaging. It provides seven teaching apps in anatomy and physiology
VisualDx + Derm Expert This link opens in a new window Database to support diagnosis with over 40,000 images distributed over 2,800 diseases / diagnoses. Using the VisualDX plus Derm Expert app, you can take pictures of skin lesions after which they are analyzed and applied to the VisualDX differential builder
The Derm Expert and Visual DX is available for both iOS. and Android. Create an account, choose VisualDX+Derm Expert on your mobile or tablet. Attention: create the account while on the OUH or SDU-network. 1. Click on ”Get the Mobile App”. 2. Choose ”Create a personal account” and create it 3. Get the Visual DX app in App Store or Google Play. 4.Login with username/password.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window An index to core scientific articles and citations within science, medicine, engineering and the social sciences. Provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™
WHO ICTRP Search Portal This link opens in a new window World Health Organisation International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (WHO ICTRP) is a register that contains information about clinical trials. WHO ICTRP Search Portal is used to search for trials information.