LibGuides: Database Subjects: History

History

America: History & Life (with full text) (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Bibliography covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes approx. 2.000 journals journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. A strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in english of articles published in more than 40 languages
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Ancestry Library Edition (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Primary history source data concerning individuals, primarily from the USA, Canada, and Great Britain. Ancestry provides access to approx. 8.000 databases, e.g. the national censuses for USA 1790-1940 and Great Britain 1851-1911
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Arkiv.dk This link opens in a new window Fotos, film, arkivalier m.v. fra Danmark i stads- og lokalarkivernes samlinger. Omfang ca. 3 mio. enheder
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window Indexes scientific journals within arts and humanities and affiliated sciences
Avalon Project This link opens in a new window Digital library of documents relating to law, history and diplomacy. The project is part of the Yale Law School, Lillian Goldman Law Library
British History Online This link opens in a new window Digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. (Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust).
British Library Newspapers, Part I and II: 1800-1900 This link opens in a new window A selection of national, regional and local 19th century British newspapers.
Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics This link opens in a new window The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers thousands of comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed for student readers.
Cold War International History Project This link opens in a new window Collection of Cold War sources. (Cold War International History Project. Wilson Center).
Danmarkshistorien.dk This link opens in a new window Leksikon, kronologisk opdelt danmarkshistorie, kildesamling, e-bøger, film- og lydklip mv. om Danmarks historie fra oldtiden til nutid. (Historisk Afdeling. Århus Universitet)
Danmarks kirker This link opens in a new window Leksikon over danske kirkers arkitektur- og kunsthistorie, herunder registrering af kalkmalerier, gravminder, kunstgenstande og øvrigt inventar, samt redegørelse for administrative forhold
Digital Library of Danish American Newspapers and Journals This link opens in a new window Danish-American immigrant newspapers/journals, includes at present: Bien (1893-2011), Dannevirke (1880-1951), Danskeren (1899-1920) and Den Danske Pioneer (1894-2012). (Museum of Danish America, Elk Horn, Iowa).
Digital National Security Archive (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events, including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. National Security Archive.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Diplomatarium Danicum 789-1450 This link opens in a new window Diplomer, dvs. retsstiftende dokumenter vedrørende Danmark i middelalderen. Tekster på latin, middelnedertysk eller gammeldansk, med oversættelser.
Dyabola This link opens in a new window To get access: Tick off the box "IP-access..." and click on Start. Only access from a SDU campus.
Early American Newspapers, Series III. 1829-1922 This link opens in a new window Historical newspapers from the major part of the United States. The collection covers the period from 1829 to 1922, with the focus on the recent decades of the period
Encyclopedia Mythica This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia on mythology, folklore and legends from all over the world. The entries comprises e.g. goddesses, imaginary places, heroes, legendary and supernatural creatures and beings
Encyclopedia of African American Society This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia of African American culture, approaching the field from a “street level”. A comprehensive yet accessible reference set in this field to give voice to the turbulent historical trends
Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia of American Studies brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present. It features broad, synthetic articles covering areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America, and is interdisciplinary in its coverage
Encyclopedia of Ancient History This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia of the ancient Mediterranean world. The entries spanning from the late Bronze Age through the seventh century AD. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt
Encyclopedia of Archaeology This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline; the practice of archaeology; archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline
Encyclopedia of the cold war This link opens in a new window Reference work on the defining conflict of the second half of the 20th century, covering all aspects of the Cold War as it influenced events around the world
EuroDocs: Western European Primary Historical Dokuments This link opens in a new window Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations from european countries
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Bibliography of european works, written before 1750, that relate to the Americas. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Folketingstidende This link opens in a new window Folketingets forhandlinger fra samling 1953/1954- , med samtlige tillæg samt Folketingets Årbog.
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) This link opens in a new window The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity, 1861-1988. The series contains documents from Presidential libraries, Dept. of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies This link opens in a new window
A collection of recorded interviews with witnesses and survivors of The Holocaust, deposited wit the Yale University Library.
You need to register for an account to get access to the videos. You can pick a login of your own choice.
Frihedsmuseets modstandsdatabase This link opens in a new window The Danish resistance movement 1940-45. Persons, organization and sources. (The Resistance Museum, Copenhagen
Gallica, bibliothèque numérique de la Bibliothèque Nationale de France This link opens in a new window Digitized printed materials (books, journals, newspapers, printed music, and other documents), graphic materials (engravings, maps, photographs, and others), and sound recordings. (Bibliothèque nationale de France)
Gnomon Bibliographische Datenbank This link opens in a new window Bibliography of ancient archaeology, literature, art and history. Including literature reviews
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via the Google Books and Internet Archives projects, as well as content digitized locally by libraries. The vast bulk of the material is from the period 1850-1930, with 80% of the content in the languages English, German and French
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Bibliography of history, with a broad coverage, geographically and thematically, for the renaissance and modern period, from 1450 to the present. Indexing approx. 2.900 historical journals from 1953 ff
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Deutsche Historische Bibliographie This link opens in a new window Bibliography on the history of the german states
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window The international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. The Index Islamicus Online provides the reader with an effective overview of what has been published since 1966 on a given subject in the field of Islamic Studies in its broadest sense
International Encyclopedia of revolution and protest This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia of major uprisings and protest movements: the ideas, ideologies, the activists that propelled them, their roots, goals, tactics, influence, and successes and failures
International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new window National and international socio-economic data 1750-2010. Contains key economic and social indicators. Data are available in both Excel and PDF tabular formats
Internet History Sourcebooks This link opens in a new window Internet History Sourcebooks Project (IHSP) is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical primary sources. Originally divided into sourcebook for Ancient, Medieval and Modern History, the project has grown in size and specialization.
Jacoby Online This link opens in a new window ‘Jacoby’ is short for Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker (FGrHist, or FGrH), a collection of ancient Greek historic texts that were lost, except for fragments (citations, extracts and summaries) found in other sources. Most of these fragments are attributed to a particular author and/or work in the source text, but some remain anonymous and can only be categorized by their subject matter.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Digital library of important scholarly journals, mostly humanities and social sciences. Mostly 20th century
Kalkmalerier i danske kirker This link opens in a new window Kalkmalerier i Danmark, eller specifikt alle synlige figurative kalkmalerier samt tilhørende ornamentik, der ikke er restaureret siden 1990. Formålet med basen er at danne et overblik over karakter, niveau og omfang af nedbrydningen af kalkmalerierne. Nationalmuseet
Kraks vejviser This link opens in a new window Københavns Vejviser (Kraks Vejviser) 1770 ff. Indeholder oplysninger om personer, firmaer, adresser, samt mange andre oplysninger vedrørende hverdagsforhold for borgere i København. Fra 1920’erne indeholder værket også bykort/bydelskort i farver
L'Année philologique This link opens in a new window The most comprehensive bibliographical resource for scholary work on language, literature, history and culture on Ancient Greece and Rome. Indexing from 1924 ff.
Lex.dk This link opens in a new window Samlet indgang til flere leksikalske værker, bl.a.: Danmarks Oldtid, Danmarkshistorien.dk, Dansk Biografisk Leksikon, Nordisk Mytologi, Den Store Danske, Symbolleksikon, Trap Danmark (6. udg.).
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window Harvard University Press presents an interconnected, fully searchable virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, the entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations
Mediestream This link opens in a new window No walk-in use. Mediestream indeholder streaming af radio- og tv-udsendelser sendt på danske kanaler fra 2005 til nu samt reklamefilm fra perioden 1954-2005. Indholdet er unikt, da vi bl.a. giver adgang til hele sendeflader fra DR1, DR2, TV2, TV2 News, P1, P3 og P4 og ikke blot enkelte udsendelser. Desuden er det muligt både at søge på tværs af tv, radio og reklamefilm, men også at fordybe sig i en af samlingerne.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Mediestream - digitaliserede danske aviser This link opens in a new window No walk-in use. Digitaliserede danske aviser fra Statens Avissamling. Der kan søges i hele samlingen undtagen de nyeste 100 år. Desuden kan der søges i de såkaldte ’ejerløse’ aviser (67 titler udgivet mellem 1919-2002).
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Middle East and Africa Database This link opens in a new window The Middle East and Africa Database provides area coverage especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries. The database is designed to provide easy bibliographic and fulltext access to journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, press releases, books, manuals, magazines, and ephemera.
MLA Directory of Periodicals (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Neue Pauly / Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia of the Greco-Roman antiquity. Brill´s New Pauly is the english edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. Includes the german version. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand
Norges kirker This link opens in a new window Dokumentationsprojekt for norske kirker. Beskrivelse af kirkernes historie, arkitektur og inventar. Efterfølger værket: Norske Minnesmerker.
Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4. ed This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia covering all aspects of the classical world, in the disciplines: literature, history, religion, science, and archaeology. From 2012, with it’s first edition in 1949, OCD is the most authoritative and accessible dictionary for anyone with an interest in the classical era.
Sociological Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts indexes international scholarly literature in sociology. Sociological Abstracts and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Soundtoll registers This link opens in a new window SRO is an instrument of historical analysis. Data, covering the period 1499-1857, is a interpretation of the accounts of the toll which the Danish king levied on the shipping through the Sound (Øresund).
Store Danske: Gyldendals åbne encyklopædi This link opens in a new window Dansk nationalleksikon, webbaseret fra 2009. Videreførelse af Den Store Danske Encyklopædi.
Supplementum epigraphicum graecum This link opens in a new window SEG is a survey of Greek inscriptions in ancient Europe. Founded in 1923, SEG contains inscriptions alongside critical apparatuses and summaries. In addition fx: metadata, provenance, bibliography.
Svensk historisk bibliografi This link opens in a new window Bibliografi over svensk historisk litteratur, publiceret fra 1977 ff.
Sverige. Digitaliserat riksdagstryck 1521-1970 This link opens in a new window Rigsdagsakter, protokoller, betænkninger og dokumenter vedrørende svensk lovgivning, udøvet gennem stænderrigsdagen (1521-1866) og tokammerrigsdagen (1867-1970).
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. The goal is a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era
New users: You need to create an account to get access to the database.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window TLS published from 1902 ff. No access to the recent 5 years
Trap Danmark (5. ed) This link opens in a new window Trap Danmark (5th Edition) contains a precise description of Denmark, the Danish landscape, cities, history, nature, culture and institutions. The corpus stands as one of the most important Danish topographical works. Access: click on VIP: Log ind
Password required. Please contact the staff.
Trap Danmark (6. ed) This link opens in a new window The 6th Edition of Trap Danmark, contains descriptions of Danish geology, geography, archeology, history, culture, art, architecture and of social as well as economical parameters.