LibGuides: Database Subjects: General

Social sciences, general

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database which provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window "Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA is a comprehensive source of social science and health information for practical and academic professionals. It contains records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Business Source Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing a very largecollection of bibliographic and full text content. The database covers the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Central and Eastern European Online Library This link opens in a new window CEEOL is a leading provider of academic e-journals and e-books in the Humanities and Social Sciences from and about Central and Eastern Europe. Currently, CEEOL covers more than 1,100 journals and 350,000 articles.
Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities This link opens in a new window IISI Proceedings SM is now the Conference Proceedings Citation Index SM — an integrated index within Web of Science®. Conference Proceedings Citation Index, accessed via Web of Science, helps researchers access the published literature from the most significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide
Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Essential Science Indicators This link opens in a new window "This unique and comprehensive compilation of science performance statistics and science trends data is based on journal article publication counts and citation data from Thomson Scientific databases. It is an ideal analytical resource for policymakers, administrators, analysts and information specialists in government agencies, universities, corporations, private laboratories, publishing companies and foundations, as well as members of the scientific press and recruiters.
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Folketinget This link opens in a new window Indeholder lovforslag, betænkninger, beretninger, spørgsmål til ministre, referater af møder i folketingssalen, udvalgsbilag m.m. - alt hvad der trykkes i Folketingets Forhandlinger og Folketingstidende. Dertil har siden henvisninger til de politiske partiers websider, oplysninger om institutioner under Folketinget, EU-oplysningen, et leksikon med forklaring på parlamentariske udtryk og begreber, Folketingets Lovbutik m.v
Francis This link opens in a new window This database is created by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS) in Vandoeuvre-les-Nancy (France). FRANCIS is a multilingual, multidisciplinary database covering the humanities and social sciences, making it an ideal stand-alone database, as well as a suitable complement for more specialized databases. FRANCIS is strong in areas such as archaeology, geography, linguistics, philosophy, religion and sociology. Abstracts are available in French or English
Idunn.no This link opens in a new window Idunn.no er en digital publiceringsplatform for fag- og forskningstidsskrifter. Du kan søge i over 26 000 kvalitetssikrede artikler indenfor fagområderne jura, pædagogik, helse- og socialfag, samfundsfag, humanistiske fag, økonomi og naturfag.
Infomedia This link opens in a new window Infomedias Mediearkiv er Danmarks største online mediearkiv, som giver adgang til millioner af artikler fra landets vigtigste medier tilbage til 1990 og frem til i dag. Infomedia opdateres dagligt med alle landsdækkende dagblade, alle regionale og lokale dagblade, lokale ugeaviser, fagblade og magasiner, nyhedsbureauer, webmedier og radio- og tv-udsendelser.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window IBSS is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It has a broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. IBSS is updated biweekly, with approximately 100,000 new records added each year
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, unique resource for evaluating and comparing journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals. Shows the most frequently cited and highest impact journals in a given field
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Digital library of important scholarly journals, mostly humanities and social sciences. Mostly 20th century
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni provides quick access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, EU and international law. LexisNexis Academic NEWS supplies full-text of more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, many same day of publication, more than 300 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters, broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio networks and political transcripts covering Congressional committee hearings, press briefings from the State, Justice, and Defense departments, and presidential news conferences and more.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Handbooks Online provides online access to handbooks by Oxford University Press. Oxford University Press is a leading scholarly publisher. Your library gives you access to selected titles accross the different disciplines.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Scholarship Online is a vast and rapidly expanding cross-searchable library which offers quick and easy access to the full text of many Oxford books. Your library gives you access to Economics, Politics, Philosophy, Religion, Law, Business/Management, Classics, History, Literature, Physics, Psychology, Public Health & Epidemiology and Sociology
3 simultaneous users
PAIS Index (Proquest) This link opens in a new window PAIS was established in 1914 to chronicle the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. PAIS contains records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, from over 120 countries. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. As well, PAIS contains PAIS Archive.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Periodicals Index Online (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Periodicals Index Online is an index to articles from thousands of journals within the arts, humanities and social sciences covering the period 1665-1995
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
ProQuest Ebook Central (Ebrary) This link opens in a new window E-book Central provide authoritative e-books in a range of subjects. Use E-book Central to quickly and easily find relevant e-books and chapters; read online; search within the e-book; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download e-books and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Contains research articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and affiliated. Search for PsycArticles in PsycInfo.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Indexes of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983 and searchable full text of articles from over 250 journals as far back as 1994. Subject coverage includes antiques, arts, business, computers, education, entertainment, film & television, gardening, health & medicine, history, home improvement, literature, news & current events, photography, popular & classical music, politics, popular culture, religion, science, sports & fitness, transportation, travel and much more
Rigsarkivet Surveydata This link opens in a new window Rigsarkivet Surveydata Search provides the largest collection of survey-based research data in Denmark to researchers and students. You can find research data on a wide range of political, sociological and public health issues covering more than half a century.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods is a methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods find the best technique to use in their research.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest curated abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, medicine, engineering and the social sciences. It holds over 70 mio. references to scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, and provides tools to track, analyze and visualize research output
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Social Sciences Citation Index®, accessed via Web of Science®, provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window An index to core scientific articles and citations within science, medicine, engineering and the social sciences. Provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™
WISO This link opens in a new window WISO ist Die Online-Datenbank für Studium und Wissenschaft, mit einem breiten Spektrum wissenschaftlicher und studienrelevanter Inhalte. Dazu gehören hochkarätige Referenzdatenbanken sowie die Volltexte ausgewählter Fachzeitschriften und eBooks.
Women’s Studies International This link opens in a new window Women's Studies International is a bibliographic database for women's studies and feminist research. Providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, it is a valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations and humanities
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.