LibGuides: Database Subjects: General

Health sciences, general

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database which provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
American Medical Association Journals This link opens in a new window Home page for the JAMA Network that includes journals, news, blogs, a learning centre and patient information. Collections of guidelines and recommendations related to medical specialities
American Society for Microbiology Journals This link opens in a new window ASM journals delivers up-to-date coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Search Annual Reviews journal articles
Australian Education Index (Proquest) This link opens in a new window The Australian Education Index is a comprehensive collection of educational research documents relating to educational trends, policy, and practices. The database is produced by the Cunningham Library for the Australian Council for Educational Research and is Australia's largest source of education information. Coverage includes trends and practices in teaching, learning and educational management in Australia. Consists of more than 200000 entries, approx. 70000 full text references. 1977-
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Bibliotek.dk This link opens in a new window Indeholder bøger, artikler og andet materiale udgivet i Danmark samt hvad der findes på danske offentlige biblioteker. Det er muligt at bestille materialet
BioMedCentral This link opens in a new window BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. The more than 300 journals can be searched and the related publishing information accessed
BMJ Journals This link opens in a new window BMJ is a publishing house with more than 60 medical and allied science journals. Publishing information and information on other products can be accessed on the web site. Some features may require a subscription
Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window Interface to search thousands of medical books and clinical reference texts
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window Encyclopædia Britannica's founded in 1768
Cambridge Journals This link opens in a new window Cambridge Journals Online is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press’s collection of leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities
Comprehensive biomedical physics This link opens in a new window Ten volumes on Biomedical Physics that covers the key areas of developments in the field and illustrates the new approaches as well as methods and theories employed
Covidence This link opens in a new window Covidence is a web-based program suitable for screening, evaluating and validating references when you are doing a systematic review.
Access for SDU employees, students and OUH. No access for hospital employees at the Region of Southern Denmark.
Den Danske Forskningsdatabase This link opens in a new window NORA – Danish Research Portal – A pilot database with local data on Danish research. Data has been curated and provided by Danish research institutions. This early Alpha-release should be used with great care. Only a few institutions are currently included and a number of issues were discovered in the transfer of data from their local systems to the portal. These have now been corrected in collaboration with the software vendor and will be made available in the early March Pure software update, version 5.23.1. As soon as the institutions install this update, we may move forward towards a representative beta-release.
Directory of Open Access Journals (Open access) This link opens in a new window Contains open access journal
e-Anatomy This link opens in a new window e-Anatomy is an atlas showing anatomical structures (with latin medical labels). This is how you use the e-Anatomy app: 1. Create a free account on www.imaios.com 2. Download and install the app (free in iTunes and Google Play) 3. Connect to the network at SDU or OUH the first time you log in to the app 4. After two weeks you have to log in to the app again while being connected to the network.
EBSCO host Research Databases This link opens in a new window A database host that covers a wide range of subjects.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world’s largest education database containing over 1.5 million records. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, and administered by the U.S. National Library of Education. Provides access, increases and facilitates the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. Covers internationally from 1966- PROQUEST entrance
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Essential Science Indicators This link opens in a new window "This unique and comprehensive compilation of science performance statistics and science trends data is based on journal article publication counts and citation data from Thomson Scientific databases. It is an ideal analytical resource for policymakers, administrators, analysts and information specialists in government agencies, universities, corporations, private laboratories, publishing companies and foundations, as well as members of the scientific press and recruiters.
European Pharmacopoeia Online 11.0-11.2 This link opens in a new window
Lecturers can contact e-tss@bib.sdu.dk to gain access for all students at once. Single users should send an e-mail from their SDU or Rsyd e-mail address to The library's licensing office. Other users: Password required. Please contact the staff.
Future Science Group eBook Collection This link opens in a new window The database covers 29 journals in clinical medicine, oncology, biomedicine, molecular medicine, neurology, immunology & infectious disease, cardiology and drugs. It provides research worldwide with a unique source of objective cutting-edge information on the most exciting emerging trends
Google Books Search This link opens in a new window Book Search works just like web search. Try a search on Google Books or on Google.com. When a book with content that contains a match for your search terms, google will link to it in your search results
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar includes journal and conference papers, theses and dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports and other scholarly literature from all broad areas of research
Infomedia This link opens in a new window Infomedias Mediearkiv er Danmarks største online mediearkiv, som giver adgang til millioner af artikler fra landets vigtigste medier tilbage til 1990 og frem til i dag. Infomedia opdateres dagligt med alle landsdækkende dagblade, alle regionale og lokale dagblade, lokale ugeaviser, fagblade og magasiner, nyhedsbureauer, webmedier og radio- og tv-udsendelser.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window The largest corpus of knowledge about the social and behavioral sciences in existence, published in its second edition in 2015. Contains about 4,000 articles about subjects and prominent researchers within all social science disciplines, including psychology. 80% of the articles are new or updated since the first edition in 2001. The first edition is available in print in SDUB Odense.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, unique resource for evaluating and comparing journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals. Shows the most frequently cited and highest impact journals in a given field
Mary Ann Liebert This link opens in a new window More than 90 peer-reviewed journals in the most promising areas of biomedical research, biotechnology and regenerative medicine, clinical medicine and surgery, public health, technology and engineering, environmental studies, and law and policy
Medical Matrix This link opens in a new window Designed as an in-depth specialty clinical information website. Healio.com features news reporting, dynamic multimedia, question-and-answer columns, CME and other educational activities in a variety of formats in medicine
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is a bibliographic database of the U.S National Library of Medicine. It indexes more than 5,600 journals from life science, biomedicine and health. It covers literature from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period. MEDLINE is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. This link provides access to search Medline via the Ovid interface
MEDLINE (Proquest) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is a bibliographic database of the U.S National Library of Medicine. It indexes more than 5,600 journals from life science, biomedicine and health. It covers literature from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period. MEDLINE is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. This link provides access to search Medline via the Proquest interface
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs This link opens in a new window The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions provides an extensively reorganized and expanded resource that now comprises more than 1,500 individual drug articles with the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere. Each article contains detailed and authoritative information about the adverse effects of each drug, with comprehensive references to the primary literature
Nature Journals This link opens in a new window A nature research journal that provides articles and research highlights in biological sciences, business & commerce, earth & environmental sciences, health sciences, humanities, physical sciences, scientific community & society and social science
NCBI Entrez This link opens in a new window An entry to NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) databases, covering literature (Pubmed etc.), genes, genetics, proteins, genomes and chemicals
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni provides quick access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, EU and international law. LexisNexis Academic NEWS supplies full-text of more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, many same day of publication, more than 300 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters, broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio networks and political transcripts covering Congressional committee hearings, press briefings from the State, Justice, and Defense departments, and presidential news conferences and more.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees
NLM Catalog This link opens in a new window The NLM Catalog provides access to NLM bibliographic data for over 1.4 million journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources, and other materials
Ovid Journals This link opens in a new window Provides access to Ovid resources: books, journals, Embase, MEDLINE, psycINFO, and psycTESTs
1 sim. user
Oxford University Press This link opens in a new window Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes peer reviewed journals in a wide range of subjects
Patty's Industrial Hygiene 6th edition This link opens in a new window Welcome to the home of Patty's Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology Online, the standard reference for occupational health and toxicology professionals. The online version offers access to all articles as separate volumes, or searchable together
Patty's Toxicology This link opens in a new window Welcome to the home of Patty's Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology Online, the standard reference for occupational health and toxicology professionals. The online version offers access to all articles as separate volumes, or searchable together.
ProQuest Ebook Central (Ebrary) This link opens in a new window E-book Central provide authoritative e-books in a range of subjects. Use E-book Central to quickly and easily find relevant e-books and chapters; read online; search within the e-book; and highlight, take notes and bookmark pages in your online copy, stored on your bookshelf for you. You can also share your research with others, download e-books and chapters to your laptop or mobile device, and more
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Contains research articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and affiliated. Search for PsycArticles in PsycInfo.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a search engine provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It covers life science and biomedicine broadly including the 5600 journal titles indexed in the database Medline. It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers
Scholarpedia This link opens in a new window Scholarpedia is a free peer reviewed encyclopedia written by scholars from all around the world.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest curated abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, medicine, engineering and the social sciences. It holds over 70 mio. references to scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, and provides tools to track, analyze and visualize research output
Side Effects of Drugs Annual This link opens in a new window The Side Effects of Drugs Annual is a yearly update to the voluminous encyclopaedia Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs. Provides critical yearly survey of new data and trends in the area of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions
SPORTdiscus This link opens in a new window Coming soon
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window Access to full text journal articles, books, series, protocols and reference works within a wide range of subjects.
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window The world’s largest database of reproducible laboratory protocols in biomedicine, molecular biology and life sciences. Lab procedures are presented with reliable and accurate step-by-step descriptions for immediate use in the lab
Store Danske: Gyldendals åbne encyklopædi This link opens in a new window Dansk nationalleksikon, webbaseret fra 2009. Videreførelse af Den Store Danske Encyklopædi.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window Taylor & Francis Online is the journal content platform for the Taylor & Francis Group. The journals covers a wide range of subjects
Thieme Connect This link opens in a new window Thieme is an international medical and science publisher serving health professionals and students. It promotes the latest advancements in clinical practice, publishes the latest research findings
TOXLINE (Proquest) This link opens in a new window TOXLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens. Most records have abstracts and/or indexing terms and Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) Registry Numbers. Coverage: from 1999 to the present
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Epistemonikos This link opens in a new window Epistemonikos er en kooperativ og flersproget database, som indeholder systematiske reviews (der er relevante for sundhedsbeslutninger) samt andre typer videnskabelig evidens.
Ulykkes Analyse Gruppen This link opens in a new window UAG is a research institution at the Orthopedic department in Odense University Hospital. UAG provides articles and tables on injury data collected in the emergency room and provides data on general injury, traffic injury, multi-traumas, hip fracture and fireworks injuries
VisualDx + Derm Expert This link opens in a new window Database to support diagnosis with over 40,000 images distributed over 2,800 diseases / diagnoses. Using the VisualDX plus Derm Expert app, you can take pictures of skin lesions after which they are analyzed and applied to the VisualDX differential builder
The Derm Expert and Visual DX is available for both iOS. and Android. Create an account, choose VisualDX+Derm Expert on your mobile or tablet. Attention: create the account while on the OUH or SDU-network. 1. Click on ”Get the Mobile App”. 2. Choose ”Create a personal account” and create it 3. Get the Visual DX app in App Store or Google Play. 4.Login with username/password.
Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Health, Illness, Behavior and Society This link opens in a new window The database provides more than 700 entries across 20 sub-disciplines, this encyclopedia offers the first comprehensive, interdisciplinary, and international reference work on aspects of the social scientific study of health and illness
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository This link opens in a new window The World Bank (WB) is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. Contents include WB Annual Reports and Independent Evaluation Studies, books published by WP, World Development Reports plus recent background papers, journal articles, Knowledge Notes, selected translated titles, and much more.