LibGuides: Database Subjects: Biomedicine

Biomedicine

Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics This link opens in a new window Brenner’s Encyclopedia of Genetics covers the entire field of genetics, with over 1.600 entries written by scientific experts. Historical figures and key terms of biochemistry, cell, and molecular biology are also described. It provides short essays with key term explanations, cross-references, further readings, and relevant websites
Comprehensive biomedical physics This link opens in a new window Ten volumes on Biomedical Physics that covers the key areas of developments in the field and illustrates the new approaches as well as methods and theories employed
Comprehensive biophysics This link opens in a new window A 9-volume encyclopedia of biophysics written by esteemed scientific experts. All entries may serve as definitive introductions to a broad array of topics, ranging from the underlying mathematical models describing the complexity of biological systems, to applications of physical techniques to biological macromolecules, cells or tissue
Comprehensive natural products II This link opens in a new window
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry This link opens in a new window Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry is the comprehensive resource for detailed protocols related to nucleosides, nucleotides, and nucleic acids. CPNC brings together hundreds of core and cutting edge techniques for synthesis and analysis.
EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 8,500 international journals. Includes the Medline database and other titles not covered by Medline
Encyclopedia of Biological chemistry This link opens in a new window A reference work on the “chemistry of life”, more specifically the chemistry of the compounds and processes that constitute living organisms. In 500+ articles it covers all major topics of modern biochemistry, each authored by an expert in the area
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology This link opens in a new window Almost 500 entries cover every topic of major concern to persons studying or working epidemiology; thus, many topics from related fields such as biostatistics, health psychology, and health economics are included. All entries include cross-references to related topics. A Reader's Guide is provided that organizes the content into 14 major areas of epidemiology
Encyclopedia of Hormones This link opens in a new window A comprehensive reference work on hormones in vertebrate, invertebrate, and plant systems. It covers chemical structure and biological synthesis; major physiological systems; cellular and subcellular action sites; signal transduction mechanisms and the biological consequences of hormone imbalances. 300+ articles with key references
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) This link opens in a new window eLS (formerly known as the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences) has more than 5,000 peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leading experts of their field. Key subject areas are: Biochemistry - Bioethics & Philosophy - Cell Biology - Developmental Biology – Ecology - Evolution & Diversity of Life - Genetics & Disease – Immunology – Microbiology - Molecular Biology – Neuroscience - Plant Science - Science & Society - Structural Biology – Virology
Encyclopedia of Molecular Pharmacology This link opens in a new window Describes the molecular basis and mechanism of drug action. Articles include drugs and drug targets but also general principles of pharmacology such as drug tolerance, drug addiction and drug metabolism. Includes list of keywords as well as list of drugs in common use.
Encyclopedia of Virology This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition continues is the largest single reference source of current research in virology. Unique in its use of “mini-review” articles and it covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects
Evolution of nervous systems This link opens in a new window Volume 1: History, theory, concepts, and development of the nervous system. Invertebrates. Volume 2: Evolution of complex nervous system in non-mammalian vertebrates. Volume 3: Evolution of the nervous system in mammals. Volume 4: Evolution of the nervous system in primates
General, Applied and Systems Toxicology This link opens in a new window It presents an in-depth review of the basic science of toxicology, its specializations, and the application of toxicological knowledge. Additionally, the reference reflects the multidimensional character of the emerging areas of toxicological research
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than four-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners
ISCN 2020 This link opens in a new window
HOW TO GET ACCESS
Students and employees at SDU: See Sharepoint for more information.
Employees at OUH and the other university hospitals: Please send an e-mail to the library's licensing office. Please send the e-mail from your hospital e-mail.
An International System for Human Cytogenomic Nomenclature. The database includes tools, books and recommendations in general, for DNA, RNA and protein.
Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window JoVE is the world's first and only peer-reviewed scientific video journal. The videos demonstrate procedures and experiments from laboratories at top research institutions worldwide
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE is a bibliographic database of the U.S National Library of Medicine. It indexes more than 5,600 journals from life science, biomedicine and health. It covers literature from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period. MEDLINE is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. This link provides access to search Medline via the Ovid interface
Morgan & Claypool Colloquium This link opens in a new window An independent publisher of digital-first scholarly eBooks ('Lectures') for the Engineering, Computer Science, Life Science, and Physics research communities
Nature Protocols This link opens in a new window Nature Protocols is an online journal of peer-reviewed lab protocols for researchers. Procedures are presented in a 'recipe' style, providing step-by-step descriptions that users can apply immediately in their own research. All protocols are proven to work already, having been used to generate data reported in published research papers. It covers all areas of the biological and biomedical sciences, including methods in physics and chemistry with biological applications
NCBI Entrez This link opens in a new window An entry to NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) databases, covering literature (Pubmed etc.), genes, genetics, proteins, genomes and chemicals
NLM Catalog This link opens in a new window The NLM Catalog provides access to NLM bibliographic data for over 1.4 million journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources, and other materials
Patty's Industrial Hygiene 6th edition This link opens in a new window Welcome to the home of Patty's Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology Online, the standard reference for occupational health and toxicology professionals. The online version offers access to all articles as separate volumes, or searchable together
Patty's Toxicology This link opens in a new window Welcome to the home of Patty's Industrial Hygiene and Toxicology Online, the standard reference for occupational health and toxicology professionals. The online version offers access to all articles as separate volumes, or searchable together.
ProQuest database host This link opens in a new window The database covers a wide range of subjects such as humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and medicine. The databases can be searched individually or collectively.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Contains research articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and affiliated. Search for PsycArticles in PsycInfo.
PubChem This link opens in a new window PubChem is an open chemistry database at the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) and a key chemical information resource for scientists, students and professionals. It has information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data and much more. PubChem focuses on small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules are included. More than 111 mio pure compounds, 277 mio substances and 34 mio references are covered by Jan 2022.
Reviews in Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine This link opens in a new window Reviews in Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine (formerly The Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine) covers both the molecular and cellular basis of life and medicine. Each article is a self-contained “mini-book”, usually with over 100 references and 10 to 20 figures and tables. Key topics are: Biomolecular interactions, epigenomics, molecular pathobiology and nanomedicine, stem cells, structural determination techniques, synthetic biology, systems biology and translational medicine
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window The world’s largest database of reproducible laboratory protocols in biomedicine, molecular biology and life sciences. Lab procedures are presented with reliable and accurate step-by-step descriptions for immediate use in the lab
TOXLINE (Proquest) This link opens in a new window TOXLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens. Most records have abstracts and/or indexing terms and Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) Registry Numbers. Coverage: from 1999 to the present
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window An index to core scientific articles and citations within science, medicine, engineering and the social sciences. Provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™