LibGuides: Database Subjects: English

English

Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window Indexes scientific journals within arts and humanities and affiliated sciences
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window Encyclopædia Britannica's founded in 1768
Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics This link opens in a new window The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers thousands of comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed for student readers.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete This link opens in a new window Signed essays written by scholars provide essential context for understanding the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and from all parts of the world. This resource provides access to all volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography series (more than 360 vols.), the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series (19 vols.) and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook (23 vols.).
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window An entirely new work, with new editors, new authors, new topics and newly commissioned articles with a handful of classic articles. The online version will include updates as subjects develop. Supplementary audio, video and text files online. Extensive list of commonly used abbreviations. List of languages of the world (including information on no. of speakers, language family, etc.). Approximately 700 biographical entries (now includes contemporary linguists).
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Bibliography of european works, written before 1750, that relate to the Americas. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Gyldendals røde ordbøger This link opens in a new window Gyldendals Røde Ordbøger giver online adgang til en lang række af Gyldendals velkendte ordbøger via Ordbogen.com
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Historical Abstracts (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Bibliography of history, with a broad coverage, geographically and thematically, for the renaissance and modern period, from 1450 to the present. Indexing approx. 2.900 historical journals from 1953 ff
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Linguistics Collection (Proquest) This link opens in a new window This collection combines Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), the leading index for linguistics, with full-text for many titles. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Linguistics Database (Proquest) This link opens in a new window This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Litteraturleksikon This link opens in a new window Samfundslitteraturs Litteraturleksikon er et digitalt opslagsværk, der forklarer centrale begreber, metoder, fænomener og genrer inden for litteraturen. Leksikonet giver læseren et overblik over det litteraturvidenskabelige felt og forskningsbaserede opslag med litteraturhenvisninger og forslag til videre læsning. Leksikonet er skrevet og redigeret af fremtrædende faglige specialister, og det opdateres løbende. Opslagene dækker både klassiske emner og nye tendenser fra litteraturforskningen. Fra Middelalderens litteratur over parabase og enjambement til performativ biografisme og kognitiv litteraturdidaktik.
MLA Directory of Periodicals (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals.
MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni provides quick access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, EU and international law. LexisNexis Academic NEWS supplies full-text of more than 350 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, many same day of publication, more than 300 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters, broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio networks and political transcripts covering Congressional committee hearings, press briefings from the State, Justice, and Defense departments, and presidential news conferences and more.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias Literature This link opens in a new window All articles of ORE are written and peer reviewed by certified experts of the topic. Reference articles are monitored by experts to ensure fresh and timely updates reflect new insights.
Sociological Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts indexes international scholarly literature in sociology. Sociological Abstracts and its companion file Social Services Abstracts, cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window TLS published from 1902 ff. No access to the recent 5 years