It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Library of Southern Denmark - LibGuides
Biological Science Index (Proquest)This link opens in a new windowThis database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications around the world. Scope: Bioscience. Coverage: 1946 – current
Access for SDU employees and students only. No access for hospital employees.
Brenner's Encyclopedia of GeneticsThis link opens in a new windowBrenner’s Encyclopedia of Genetics covers the entire field of genetics, with over 1.600 entries written by scientific experts. Historical figures and key terms of biochemistry, cell, and molecular biology are also described. It provides short essays with key term explanations, cross-references, further readings, and relevant websites
Comprehensive biomedical physicsThis link opens in a new windowTen volumes on Biomedical Physics that covers the key areas of developments in the field and illustrates the new approaches as well as methods and theories employed
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid ChemistryThis link opens in a new windowCurrent Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry is the comprehensive resource for detailed protocols related to nucleosides, nucleotides, and nucleic acids. CPNC brings together hundreds of core and cutting edge techniques for synthesis and analysis.
EMBASE (Ovid)This link opens in a new windowEMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 8,500 international journals. Includes the Medline database and other titles not covered by Medline
Encyclopedia of Biological chemistryThis link opens in a new windowA reference work on the “chemistry of life”, more specifically the chemistry of the compounds and processes that constitute living organisms. In 500+ articles it covers all major topics of modern biochemistry, each authored by an expert in the area
Encyclopedia of Environmental MicrobiologyThis link opens in a new windowTopics include:
Aeromicrobiology, Aquatic, Freshwater, Marine, Subsurface, Soil, Extreme Environments, Biodegradation, Public Health, Drinking Water, Wastewater, Biofilms, Biotechnology and Methodology
Encyclopedia of HormonesThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive reference work on hormones in vertebrate, invertebrate, and plant systems. It covers chemical structure and biological synthesis; major physiological systems; cellular and subcellular action sites; signal transduction mechanisms and the biological consequences of hormone imbalances. 300+ articles with key references
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS)This link opens in a new windoweLS (formerly known as the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences) has more than 5,000 peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leading experts of their field. Key subject areas are: Biochemistry - Bioethics & Philosophy - Cell Biology - Developmental Biology – Ecology - Evolution & Diversity of Life - Genetics & Disease – Immunology – Microbiology - Molecular Biology – Neuroscience - Plant Science - Science & Society - Structural Biology – Virology
Encyclopedia of Molecular PharmacologyThis link opens in a new windowDescribes the molecular basis and mechanism of drug action. Articles include drugs and drug targets but also general principles of pharmacology such as drug tolerance, drug addiction and drug metabolism. Includes list of keywords as well as list of drugs in common use.
Encyclopedia of VirologyThis link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia of Virology, Third Edition continues is the largest single reference source of current research in virology. Unique in its use of “mini-review” articles and it covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects
Faculty Opinions BiologyThis link opens in a new windowPersonalized recommendations of the best research articles in biology and medicine by the world’s largest group of leading scientists and clinicians – the F1000Prime Faculty. Get access over 125,000 expert recommendations, with more added daily, highlighting the world's most important articles in biology and medical research
HOW TO GET ACCESS
Students and employees at SDU: See Sharepoint for more information.
Employees at OUH and the other university hospitals: Please send an e-mail to the library's licensing office. Please send the e-mail from your hospital e-mail.
An International System for Human Cytogenomic Nomenclature. The database includes tools, books and recommendations in general, for DNA, RNA and protein.
Journal of Visualized ExperimentsThis link opens in a new windowJoVE is the world's first and only peer-reviewed scientific video journal. The videos demonstrate procedures and experiments from laboratories at top research institutions worldwide
MEDLINE (Ovid)This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE is a bibliographic database of the U.S National Library of Medicine. It indexes more than 5,600 journals from life science, biomedicine and health. It covers literature from 1966 to present, and selected coverage of literature prior to that period. MEDLINE is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. This link provides access to search Medline via the Ovid interface
Nature ProtocolsThis link opens in a new windowNature Protocols is an online journal of peer-reviewed lab protocols for researchers. Procedures are presented in a 'recipe' style, providing step-by-step descriptions that users can apply immediately in their own research. All protocols are proven to work already, having been used to generate data reported in published research papers. It covers all areas of the biological and biomedical sciences, including methods in physics and chemistry with biological applications
NCBI EntrezThis link opens in a new windowAn entry to NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) databases, covering literature (Pubmed etc.), genes, genetics, proteins, genomes and chemicals
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowPubMed is a search engine provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It covers life science and biomedicine broadly including the 5600 journal titles indexed in the database Medline. It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers
Reviews in Cell Biology and Molecular MedicineThis link opens in a new windowReviews in Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine (formerly The Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine) covers both the molecular and cellular basis of life and medicine. Each article is a self-contained “mini-book”, usually with over 100 references and 10 to 20 figures and tables. Key topics are: Biomolecular interactions, epigenomics, molecular pathobiology and nanomedicine, stem cells, structural determination techniques, synthetic biology, systems biology and translational medicine
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest curated abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature in science, medicine, engineering and the social sciences. It holds over 70 mio. references to scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, and provides tools to track, analyze and visualize research output
Springer ProtocolsThis link opens in a new windowThe world’s largest database of reproducible laboratory protocols in biomedicine, molecular biology and life sciences. Lab procedures are presented with reliable and accurate step-by-step descriptions for immediate use in the lab
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowAn index to core scientific articles and citations within science, medicine, engineering and the social sciences. Provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™