Skip to main content

Company and Market Information: Companies

IPR - Intellectual Property Rights

IPR is a term that refers to the protection of inventions and ideas. Read more...e p

Patents - why are they important?

Patents can give you important information about competitors and their inventions.

Most Western countries have now made their patent collections, 60 million, from around the world available online in the database Espacenet.

 

You can also see if a company has taken patents in the database Orbis. Choose the Tab Patents in Orbis Classic.

 

Read more on our website Patents. Or maybe visit EUIPO Academy Learning Portal.

Company types

Your access to information and data on companies depends to a large extent on the type of company in question. You can always begin by consulting the company’s own website.

Stock market quoted companies: finding information is easy, since there are specific requirements for them to provide information. Ticker symbol Lookup. Find the Ticker symbol for shares and other securities. See our databases.

Unquoted private companies and other types of companies, e.g. private limited companies: must report their annual accounts and additional company information. This information is open to all and can be found in for example the library’s databases – see them on this page. Company types – overview of abbreviations.

One-man firms: are usually not obliged to report their annual accounts. Consequently, only basic information is generally available.
 

Companies - accounting and key figures and press coverage

Orbis is the most important databases for basic information on companies.

Orbis - World-wide     
Data on more than 200 million companies across the globe including Danish companies. You have access to accounting and key figures for the last 10 years for listed companies and for the last 5 years for the others. You can also find information about the management in the companies. The database can be used to find competitors based on industry codes. Read more about Industry codes under the tab Market Reports/Industry Reports. 

Bisnode Profiler - Denmark
ONLY IN DANISH: Data on all Danish companies. You have access to accounting and key figures for the latest 5 years. You can also find information about the management i the companies. The database can be used to find competitors based on industry codes. Read more about Industry codes under the tab Market Reports/Industry Reports.

CVR - Central Business Register - Denmark
The Danish state’s master register for information on businesses. Company accounts in CVR are free. Accounts are currently available back to 2000.

Open Corporates - World-wide 
Financial Times offers free access to information about more than 100 million companies across the globe. 

LexisNexis - World-wide       
Full-text articles from international newspapers and news agencies. You can find press coverage of companies.

Infomedia - Denmark
ONLY IN DANISH: Full-text newspaper articles from all Danish newspapers. Use it for finding press coverage of companies and people (CEO, members of boards, etc.)

Business Source Complete - World-wide        
Academic peer reviewed articles in full-text from academic business economics journals. Includes country reports from EIU as well.

Intro videos

Only for your own personal study and research purposes.
Students and staff at SDU and the employees at OUH and the Regional hospitals in Southern Denmark have access to electronic material via the University Library of Southern Denmark.
You will have to log in to get access, both on and off campus. Read more about access here.
Support: Read the FAQ. If you need further help, please contact Office of Licensing via e-mail e-tss@bib.sdu.dk, or telephone 6550 2632.

Main website: www.sdu.dk/library - Join us at facebook.com/sdulibrary