University Library of Southern Denmark - LibGuides
University Library of Southern Denmark - LibGuides
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the world’s largest education database containing over 1.5 million records. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, and administered by the U.S. National Library of Education. Provides access, increases and facilitates the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. Covers internationally from 1966-
PROQUEST entrance.
Since April 24, 2025, the U.S. Department of Education has reduced ERIC’s active indexing of journals by approximately 45%, following Executive Order 14222 (DOGE). Previously, ERIC indexed around 1,200 journals and 600 non-journal sources. Going forward, only about 700 journals and 500 non-journal sources will be actively indexed. Earlier publications from the deactivated journals will remain available in ERIC (from before April 2025), but they will no longer be maintained. Additionally, 58 journals and 101 non-journal sources have been completely removed, meaning access to articles from these titles is no longer possible. ERIC’s Help Desk has also been closed. In response, The Data Rescue Project has launched ERICA – an open access archive containing approximately 500,000 documents collected from ERIC. Furthermore, ProQuest has introduced the Education Research Index, which currently covers about 75% of the former ERIC content. This database can be used independently, but it is also part of ProQuest’s Education Collection. Via ProQuest, users can also access a list (xls – opens in browser) that provides an overview of, among other things, the titles removed from ERIC.
University Library of Southern Denmark Odense | Esbjerg | Kolding | Slagelse | Sønderborg +45 6550 2100 | sdub@bib.sdu.dk
